Midleton CBS honoured for Harty Cup win


MIDLETON CBS, winners of the Dr Harty Cup, are the February winners of the Rebel Óg Monthly awards sponsored by the Clayton Hotel Silver Springs and Cummins Sports, (award sponsors),  in association with the Evening Echo and Red FM, media partners.
The 2019 Harty Cup final is notable from a number of perspectives. Midleton CBS traditionally harnesses and nurture the hurling talent of pupils coming from just nine Juvenile GAA Clubs within the school’s East Cork hinterland.
The school prides itself on nurturing “home-grown” East Cork talent through the various age groups in schools competitions in Cork and Munster. No CBS Harty Cup-winning player to date has come from a club outside of this tightly knit East Cork hurling community.
Having recorded a draw with De La Salle and a win over St Flannans at the group stages, the team reached the final following victories over Our Lady’s Templemore and De La Salle College Waterford at their second meeting of the campaign.
In this year’s final Midleton CBS faced a school they had never encountered before in the Harty Cup competition. The paring was novel in that both teams were from Cork and had representatives from the Midleton Club in both of their ranks. CBC Cork were bridging a gap of 101 years since they contested the first ever Harty Cup Final in 1918 when they were defeated by Rockwell College.
Following a heroic tussle which saw the sides draw level on eight occasions during the course of the game, a goal for Midleton in the 53rd minute proved to be the defining score which put sufficient daylight between the teams and propelled the East Cork school to victory at the final whistle. Dylan Hogan from the Killeagh was presented with the cup and the East Cork boys were crowned Munster Champions for the fourth time in the history of the school.