Cork Minor Hurling Team

The Cork Minor Hurling team to play Galway in the All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Final next Sunday 3rd September in Croke Park @ 1.15pm has been announced as follows.

1. Ger Collins – Ballinhassig

2. Conor O’ Callaghan – Dromtarriffe

3. Sean O’ Leary Hayes – Midleton – (Captain)

4. Eoin Roche – Bride Rovers

5. Aaron Walsh Barry – Carrigtwohill

6. James Keating – Kildorrery – (Vice Captain)

7. Ger Millerick – Fr. O Neill’s

8. Daire Connery – Na Piarsaigh

9. Diarmuid Linehan – Ballyhooly

10. Craig Hanifin – Na Piarsaigh

11. Liam O Shea – Lisgoold

12. Brian Roche – Bride Rovers

13. Evan Sheehan – Na Piarsaigh

14. Robert Downey – Glen Rovers

15. Brian Turnbull – Douglas


16. Ian Butler – Kildorrery

17. Jack O Callaghan – Charleville

18. Ronan Sheehan – Mallow

19. Ross Howell – Douglas

20. Barry Murphy – Castlelyons

21. Brian Buckley – Dromina

22. David Jones – Dromina

23. Declan Hanlon – Blarney

24. Colin O Brien – LiscarrollChurchtown Gaels

Additional Panels Members
Jack Twomey, Kilshannig
Jordan Murray, Ballìncollig
Conor Power, Blarney
Eoghan O Leary, Ballymartle

Conor Desmond, Ballinhassig

John Geary, Newtownshandrum

Selectors: Denis Ring (Fermoy) – Manager, John Dywer (Ballincollig – Coach), John Mortell (Ballyhea), Liam Martin (Glen Rovers), Fergus Ryan (Mallow)

Stephen Casey – Strength and Conditioning coach, Brian Hurley – Goalkeeping Coach



Preview: Electric Ireland MHC Final – Cork v Galway

Sunday September 3

Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Final

Cork v Galway, Croke Park, 1.15pm, TG4

Significant hope has been attached to this current Cork crop throughout the year.

Two epic matches against reigning All Ireland champions Tipperary underlined the class and character that exists Leeside.

Cork are developing talented teams in the underage ranks with the future appearing bright.

Jeffrey Lynskey’s Galway finished strongly to defeat Kilkenny at the penultimate stage for a noteworthy win.

Ultimately it means that this Sunday’s decider promises to be an extremely interesting encounter.

Dublin were rugged during a tight Semi-Final tussle against Cork as Brian Turnbull registered 13 points.

Midfielder Daire Connery is another highly promising Cork youngster and Galway will need to restrict his influence.

Brian Roche and Connery have forged a solid midfield partnership for an in form Cork outfit, but Galway have proven to be resilient so far.

Galway’s powerful full forward line includes Sean Bleahane, Conor Molloy, and Jack Canning, who combined to score 1-8 in the Kilkenny success.

Donal Mannion and Enda Fahy made important impacts from the bench in that game too as Galway advanced to the decider.

How Cork cope with Galway’s attacking unit will be another key factor in this tie.

Two innovative managers, Denis Ring and Lynskey, are keen to produce talented hurlers and they are carrying that task out impressively.

Since 1992 Galway have gleaned nine All Ireland minor titles confirming the diligent work that is being carried out in the underage ranks.

Cork’s last minor success occurred in 2001, but their recent All Ireland Under 17 triumph offers serious encouragement.

Having defeated Waterford, Tipperary, and Clare in Munster, Cork eventually overcame Dublin’s spirited challenge.

Galway were efficient when outfoxing Clare and Kilkenny, but they will be fully aware of Cork’s pedigree and potential.