Cork minor camogie team win Rebel Óg overall award

Mairead O’Callaghan, Hall of Fame winner with from left, Norina O’Callaghan, Clayton Hotel, Silversprings; Mick Evans, judging panel; GAA President Larry McCarthy; Grainne Murnane, Red FM; Lord Mayor of Cork Cllr Kieran McCarthy; Grainne McGuinness, Editor The Echo,; Kevin Cummins, Cummins Sports and Michael O’Mahony, chairman Rebel Óg. Picture: Eddie O’Hare

It was a night of celebration as more than 400 people attended the annual Rebel Óg awards banquet at the Clayton Hotel, Silver Springs.

Michael O’Mahony spoke on behalf of Rebel Óg and he thanked the hotel, the sponsors of both the annual and monthly awards for their continued support.

He also thanked Cummins Sports, trophy sponsors, and the two media partners, The Echo and Red FM for their support over the years.

From the monthly winners the judging panel, chaired by Michael Evans, picked an overall winner which was the Cork minor camogie team, who made it two in a row of All-Ireland titles and three in the last five years.

Jerry Wallace, manager of the team who has gone on to take over the Waterford senior side this season, thanked Rebel Óg for honouring the squad and praised the players and management for all their hard work to ensure they won the All-Ireland title.

With U16 and senior camogie titles on Leeside it was a great year for Cork camogie, one they will be hoping to repeat in 2024.

Also honoured with the Hall of Fame award was Mairead O’Callaghan for her service to Sciath na Scol.

She has been involved for many years and was also a teacher at Glenville NS for more than 40 years.

Away from Sciath na Scol she was a selector with the Cork senior camogie team and was also a member of the management of the Cork ladies football team.

Mairead won numerous titles with Watergrasshill Camogie Club, including a club All-Ireland title in 1982.

She was the first female officer of Sciath na Scol in Cork when she was elected secretary and went on to become treasurer of Cumann na mBunscoil in Munster.

She is the current president of Cumann na mBunscoil and for her many years of service Mairead was inducted into the Hall of Fame.