Rebel Og Award- About the Awards

Rebel Og Awards are now in our 5th season, since our inaugural award in January 2012, which was presented to Joint Winners, De La Salle Macroom and Midleton CBS. What began as just a vision by officers of Rebel Og has grown over the years to its peak in 2016.

The Awards are run by a sub-committee of Rebel Og with John Purcell, Jim Healy, Eoghan O’Connor and Cian O’Brien given the task of overseeing the operation of the awards.

The Awards were launched by President of the GAA Christy Cooney during his term of office (2009-2012) and he attended the first awards presentation. Liam O’Neill President of the GAA in 2012 – 2015 attended our June 2012 award.

Five independent judges are given the task of going through each months nominations and selecting the monthly winners. The judges are Mick Evans, Miriam Murphy, Sean O’Gorman, Mark Landers and Donal McCarthy.

As of December 2016, Rebel Og have awarded 60 monthly awards along with 4 "Hall of Fame" awards given out at our annual awards Banquet.

Rebel Og are delighted that we have Clayton Hotel Sliversprings as our Main Sponsors who have been sponsoring the awards over the past two years and will be the main sponsors again for 2017, led by Norina O’Callaghan, Sales and Marketing Manager of the Clayton Hotel Sliversprings.

Kevin Cummins of Cummins Sports has been sponsoring the Award for each monthly winner since our first award back in 2012.

Our Media Partners are Red FM and Irish Examiner who ensure that each month’s award is aired on the airwaves during the ‘Big Red Bench’ and printed on the Wednesday after an awards addition of the Irish Examiner.

We are now looking forward to 2017 awards,

For a full list of the award winners from January 2012 to December 2016. CLICK HERE 

At the launch of the Clayton Sliversprings Hotel Sponsorship of the Rebel Og Awards