Gaeltacht scholarship scheme

Is cúis áthais dom Scoláireachtaí Gaeltachta 2018 a fhógairt don samhradh seo chugainn. Applications are being taken NOW. 

Please find attached to this email, an Application form which includes details of this years Gaeltacht scholarship scheme. This can be photocopied as needed. 

Note that this updated GAA scholarship Application Form is required by the college with every application. This is important in order to verify the applications and to enforce the scheme on a first come first served basis.  

Please also be aware that the Cork scholarship scheme applies to Coláiste na Mumhan, Béal Átha’n  

Ghaorthaidh ONLY and does not apply to any other Gaeltacht college.

Also attached is a poster which can be printed and displayed to make your club members aware that this scheme is now active.  Dates of courses, fees, application forms and any further details and are available on or 085 1709327

Le meas, 

Diarmaid Breatnach

Oifigeach na Gaeilge

Dean Ryan Cup 

The Dean Ryan Cup (Under 16.5 A Hurling) competition gets underway this week with three Round 1 fixtures down for decision.

Fixture Details

Corn an Rianaigh (16.5 A H) Round 1
Wednesday September 20th
CBS Midleton 4-14 Our Ladys Templemore 2-15 – Match Report

Ham HS Bandon 0-15 Nenagh CBS 0-4
St Flannans W/O Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock Snr

Thursday September 21st
Bansha 13:30 Árdscoil Rís Limerick V De La Salle College Waterford

Our Ladys Templemore v CBS Midleton

Our Ladys Templemore and CBS Midleton will meet in Clonmel Sportsfield on Wednesday at 1:30pm. In last year’s competition, both schools lost out to the eventual Dean Ryan Cup runners-up Thurles CBS – Templemore losing out by 3 points in round 1 (Match Report) while CBS Midleton proved no match for Thurles, losing out by 28 points in the semi-final (Match Report).

By coincidence, both schools lost out to Thurles CBS in last year’s Under 15 A Hurling competition also, Templemore losing by 11 points in the semi-final while CBS Midleton lost by 4 points to Thurles in the quarter-final.

Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh Bandon v Nenagh CBS

Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh Bandon take on Nenagh CBS in the other Round 1 match fixed for Wednesday, this one taking place in Fermoy at 1:30pm. Last year, Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh Bandon took part in the Under 16.5 B Hurling competition (Corn Sheamais Ui Dhonnchu), losing out to Doon by a point in the second round. Nenagh CBS lost in Round 1 of the Dean Ryan Cup to Ardscoil Ris Limerick by six points.

In last year’s Under 15 A Hurling competition (Corn Aodh Ui Dhudha), Nenagh CBS lost to the eventual champions Thurles CBS by 12 points in the first round. Meanwhile, Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh Bandon played in the Under 15 B Hurling competition and proved successful, winning the Corn Reamainn Ui hOgain Final by 3-20 to 1-12 against St. Joseph’s Tulla.

Árdscoil Rís Limerick V De La Salle College Waterford

Thursday’s game sees Ardscoil Ris Limerick taking on De La Salle Waterford at 1:30pm in Bansha. Last season, Ardscoil Ris lost out to CBS Midleton by 2-16 to 2-11 while De La Salle Waterford lost out to the eventual champions St. Colmans Fermoy by three points in the Quarter-Final.

Interestingly, these schools met in last year’s Under 15 A Hurling competition (Corn Aodh Ui Dhudha) with Ardscoil Ris Limerick securing a 2-16 to 1-13 victory over De La Salle Waterford in the Quarter-Final played at Clonmel.

Dean Ryan Cup Roll of Honour

Five Cork sides in Harty Cup 2017

Rebel Og look at the groups Cork Colleges sides in Harty Cup action this season.

Senior A Munster Colleges Hurling (Harty Cup) Group A

  1. CBS Midleton
  2. Árdscoil Rís North Circular Limerick
  3. De La Salle College Waterford
  4. Scoil Na mBraithre` Rathluirc

Senior A Munster Colleges Hurling (Harty Cup) Group B

  1. Christian Brothers College, Cork
  2. Castletroy College
  3. Our Ladys Secondary School Templemore
  4. Flannans College Ennis

Senior A Munster Colleges Hurling (Harty Cup) Group C

  1. Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy
  2. Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock
  3. Blackwater Community School Lismore
  4. John The Baptist Community School

Senior A Munster Colleges Hurling (Harty Cup) Group D

  1. Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh
  2. Thurles CBS Secondary
  3. Nenagh CBS Secondary
  4. Scoil Na Trioniode Doon

Harty Cup Roll of Honor

Dr. Harty Cup Roll of Honour

Club Years
 St. Flannan’s, Ennis (21)  1944, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1952, 1954, 1957, 1958, 1976, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2004, 2005
 North Monastery, Cork (19)  1919, 1929, 1934, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1940, 1941, 1942, 1943, 1955, 1960, 1961, 1970, 1980, 1981, 1985, 1986, 1994
Limerick CBS (10)  1920, 1925, 1926, 1927, 1932, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1993
 St Colman’s College, Fermoy (9)  1948, 1949, 1977, 1992, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2002, 2003
 Thurles CBS (8)  1933, 1938, 1939, 1950, 1951, 1956, 2009, 2015
 St. Finbarr’s, Cork (7)  1963, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1984
 Rockwell College (5)  1918, 1923, 1924, 1930, 1931
 Ardscoil Rís, Limerick (4)  2010, 2011, 2014, 2016
 Midleton CBS (3)  1988, 1995, 2006
 De La Salle College Waterford (2)  2007, 2008
 Colaiste na nDeise / Dungarvan Colleges (2)  2012, 2013
 Our Lady’s Templemore / Templemore CBS (2)  1978, 2017
 St. Munchin’s (1)  1922
 Mount Sion (1)  1953
 Abbey CBS, Tipperary Town (1)  1959
 Rice College, Ennis (1) 1962
 Coláiste Chríost Rí (1)  1968
 Colaiste Iognaid Ris, Cork (1)  1975